

Guru Nanak Institute of Technology

157/F, Nilgunj Road, Panihati, Kolkata-700 114 Phone: +91 33 2563 7929 / 2523 3900, Telefax: +91 33 2563 7957 Website : www.gnit.ac.in, Email : info.gnit@jisgroup.org

Guru Nanak Institute of Technology

157/F, Nilgunj Road, Panihati, Sodepur Kolkata-700114

Date: 21/04/2021

Minutes of meeting of Board of Governors (BOG) held on 16/04/2021

The meeting of the Board of Governors of Guru Nanak Institute of Technology was held on 16/04/2021 on the online meeting platform of Zoom from 11.30 AM.

Members of BOG

SI.	Name	Designation	
1	Prof.(Dr.) S.M.Chatterjee	Chairman	
2	Mr. Taranjit Singh	Managing Trustee	
3	Mr.Haranjit Singh	Trustee, Member	
4	Mr.Amrik Singh	Trustee,Member	
5	Mr.Simarpreet Singh	Director, JISGroup	
6	Mr.U.S.Mukherjee Dy. Director, JIS Group, Nominated by Trust	Dy. Director, JIS Group, Nominated by Trust	
7	Dr.Sourav Dutta	Executive Director-IT, IDBI Bank(Industry Representative)	
8	Prof.(Dr.)Asit Guha	Former Professor, Kalyani University (Academic Representative)	
9	Prof. Malay Chatterjee	Professor, Department of Biotech, JU (MAKAUT Nominee)	
10	Mr. Jagadish Chanda	Govt. College of Engineering & Textile Technology (Govt. Nominee)	
11	Prof.(Ms.)Nandini Mukhopadhyay	Professor, Department of CSE, JU (UGC Nominee)	
12	Dr. Adhish Kumar Chakrabarty	Associate Professor, Department of AEIE(Teacher Representative)	
13	Prof.(Dr.)Arun Kumar Mandal	Professor, Department of ECE (Teacher Representative)	
14	AICTE nominee	ERO, AICTE	
15	Prof. (Dr.) Santanu Kumar Sen	Principal, Member Secretary	



Following members were present:

1.	Mr.Taranjit Singh	Managing Trustee
2.	Mr.Simarpreet Singh	Director, JIS Group
3.	Mr.U.S.Mukherjee	Dy.Director, JIS Group, nominated by Trust
4.	Prof.(Dr.)Asit Guha	Advisor, JIS Group, nominated by Trust
5.	Dr.Sourav Dutta	Executive Director-IT, IDBI Bank(Industry
		Representative)
6.	Prof.(Dr.)Malay Chatterjee	MAKAUT nominee
7.	Dr. Adhish Kumar Chakrabarty	Associate Professor, Department of AEIE(Teacher
		Representative)
8.	Prof.(Dr.)Arun Kumar Mandal	Professor, Department of ECE (Teacher
		Representative)
9.	Prof.(Dr.)Santanu Kumar Sen	Principal, Member Secretary
Thefollo	wingmemberswereabsent:	
1.	Prof.S.M.Chatterjee	Chairman
2.	Mr.Haranjit Singh	Trustee, Member
3.	Mr.Amrik Singh	Trustee, Member
4.	Mr. Jagadish Chanda	Govt. College of Engineering & Textile
		Technology (Govt. Nominee)
5.	AICTE nominee	ERO, AICTE
6.	Prof.(Ms.)Nandini Mukhopadhyay	Professor, Department of CSE, JU (UGC
		Nominee)

.

.



Agenda0:

Composition of BOG as per guide line of AICTE, list of BOG members as approved, schedule of BOG meeting in each quarter ,quorum of the meeting in order, welcome address to BOG members, introduction of new members, permission to start proceedings of BOG meeting, notice of meeting granted as read, leave of absence granted:

.

Resolution:

- i) Dr.Sourav Dutta was declared the Chairman forth is meeting of BOG
- ii) Quorum was declared
- iii) Leave of absence was granted

Agenda01:

To confirm and approve the minutes of the last meeting of Board of Governors (BOG) held on 6^{th} October 2020

Resolution:

The minutes of the last BOG meeting we reconfirmed

Agenda02:

To note and ratify action/follow up pursuant to the last meeting held on 6thOctober2020

Resolution:

The Board noted the action taken report.

Agenda03:

Assessment of Academic Performance of ODD Semester Results

Resolution:

- i. The Board noted that the general improvements in the results
- ii. It was suggested that the duration of the Semester Examination to be made of 2 hours if conducted online because of the problems of internet bandwidth by students and to conduct the examination without any time allowance for wash room/restroom



iii. The board noted the conduction of online examination through proctor mode with the use of invigilator sand suggested to look into the technologies used by other premiere institutes

Agenda04:

Placing of AICTE Extension of Approval and steps taken to overcome the deficiencies/shortfall

Resolution:

The Board noted and approved that application was submitted for change of names of AEIE to ECS (Electronics & Computer Science), and MCNT to M.Tech in ECE. The Board also noted and approved that applications submitted for the changes in intake of EE from 60 to 30, in intake of MCA from 30 to 60, and in intakes of M.Tech CSE from 9 to 18 and MCNT (to be renames M.Tech in ECE) from 9 to 18.

Agenda05:

Extension of existing intake and/or introduction of new courses

Resolution:

- The Board noted and approved that applications submitted for the changes in intake of EE from 60 to 30, in intake of MCA from 30 to 60, and in intakes of M.Tech CSE from 9 to 18 and MCNT (to be renames M.Tech.
- ii. The Board noted and approved that application was submitted for change of names of AEIE to ECS (Electronics & Computer Science), and MCNT to M.Tech in ECE.)

Agenda-06:

Achievements in the current academic year

Resolutions:

The Board noted and appreciated the achievements by the Institute, Faculty members and Students

Agenda-07:

Anti ragging measures



Resolution:

The Board appreciated that there was no complaint of ragging since the last meeting of BOG Agenda-08:

To confirm and approve of appointment, confirmation, resignation of teaching and non-teaching staffs

Resolution:

Board noted and confirmed the appointments and resignations

Agenda-09: Report of Principal on status of different important activities and common issues of the Institute

Resolution:

- The Board highly appreciated the efforts and success of the students, working i. under the guidance of the faculty members, in the Smart India Hackathon (Hardware Edition)
- ii. The Board highly appreciated the 5STAR rating received by GNIT for IIC by MoE, Govt .of India
- iii. The Board highly appreciated that the faculty members of GNIT are actively involved in the development of MOOC courses. It was suggested to encourage more faculty members to get involved in developing MOOCs.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks by the Chairman.

PRINCIPAL GURUNANAK INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

Prof(Dr.) Santanu Kumar Sen BOG Secretary, Member Principal, GNIT



GURU NANAK INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

Members of BOG

Date: 16.04.2021

SI.	Name	Designation	Signatures
1	Prof.(Dr.) S.M.Chatterjee	Chairman	
2	Mr. Taranjit Singh	Managing Trustee	Jany" 52
3	Mr.Haranjit Singh	Trustee, Member	
4	Mr.Amrik Singh	Trustee, Member	
5	Mr.Simarpreet Singh	Director, JIS Group	- 5.32
6	Mr.U.S.Mukherjee Dy. Director, JIS Group, Nominated by Trust	Dy. Director, JIS Group, Nominated by Trust	Burt
7	Dr.Sourav Dutta	Executive Director-IT, IDBI Bank(Industry Representative)	Jand Balt
8	Prof.(Dr.)Asit Guha	Former Professor, Kalyani University (Academic Representative)	Aars
9	Prof. Malay Chatterjee	Professor, Department of Biotech, JU (MAKAUT Nominee)	Miens
10	Mr. Jagadish Chanda	Govt. College of Engineering & Textile Technology (Govt. Nominee)	
11	Prof.(Ms.)Nandini Mukhopadhyay	Professor, Department of CSE, JU (UGC Nominee)	
12	Dr. Adhish Kumar Chakrabarty	Associate Professor, Department of AEIE(Teacher Representative)	Aufrandel
3	Prof.(Dr.)Arun Kumar Mandal	Professor, Department of ECE (Teacher Representative)	Aufrandel
4	AICTE nominee	ERO, AICTE	/
5	Prof. (Dr.) Santanu Kumar Sen	Principal, Member Secretary	for