Governance of an Autonomous College: Academic Affair

Guru Nanak Institute of Technology

The college will have the following committees (statutory) to ensure proper management of Academic Affair.

  • Academic Council


The composition and functions of the above committees are given in Annexures.

Academic Council

The Academic Council will be solely responsible for all academic matters, such as, framing of academic policy, approval of courses, regulations and syllabi, etc. The Council will involve faculty at all levels and also experts from outside, including representatives of the university and the government. The decisions taken by the Academic Council will not be subject to any further ratification by the Academic Council or other statutory bodies of the university. The composition and functions of the Academic Council are given in Annexure I.

Annexure I

Recommended Composition of the Academic Council and its Functions in an Autonomous College

  • Composition
  1. The principal (Chairman).
  2. All the Heads of the Department in the college.
  3. Four teachers of the college representing different categories of teaching staff by rotation on the basis of seniority of service in the college.
  4. Not less than four experts from outside the college representing such areas as Industry, Science, Humanities & Education, Engineering etc., to be nominated by the Governing Body.
  5. Three nominees of the university.
  6. A faculty member nominated by the principal (Member Secretary).
  • Terms of Members

       The term of the nominated members shall be two years.

  •  Meetings

 The principal shall convene a meeting of the Academic Council at least once a year,  preferably, once in each semester.

  • Functions

Without prejudice to the generality of functions mentioned, the Academic Council will have powers to

(a) Scrutinise and approve the proposals with or without modification of the Boards of Studies  with regard to courses of study, academic regulations, curricula, syllabi and modifications thereof, instructional and evaluation arrangements, methods, procedures relevant thereto etc., provided that where the Academic Council differs on any proposal, it will have the right to return the matter for reconsideration to the Board of Studies concerned or reject it, after giving reasons to do so.

(b) Make regulations regarding the admission of students to different programmes of study in  the college.

(c) Make regulations for sports, extra-curricular activities, and proper maintenance and functioning of the playgrounds and hostels.

(d) Recommend to the Governing Body proposals for institution of new programmes of study.

(e) Recommend to the Governing Body institution of scholarships, studentships, fellowships,  prizes and medals, and to frame regulations for the award of the same.

(f) Advise the Governing Body on suggestions(s) pertaining to academic affairs made by it.

(g) Perform such other functions as may be assigned by the Governing Body.

  • Few General issues to be addressed under Academic Council


  1. Both internal and external assessment of students in autonomous colleges are conducted for admitting them to higher-level courses and are considered by the affiliating University.
  2. Organization of special need-based short-term courses under the colleges’ departments may be an important activity of an autonomous college to benefit the students.
  3. A wide variety of courses may be evolved in modules so that students may opt for them according to their convenience. Such courses may help them acquire additional credits.
  4. The time spent by teachers on projects and extension work shall be counted for reckoning their workload as prescribed by the University Grant Commission.
  5. Credit system and credit transfer among colleges in general and autonomous college in particular may be suitably adopted.
  6. Autonomous colleges are free to institute medals for meritorious students. The value and other terms of reference may be decided with the approval of appropriate bodies in the college.
Members (Internal)
Member’s NameDesignationPosition
1Prof.(Dr.)Santanu Kumar SenPrincipalChairman
2Dr. Sucharita BhattacharyyaProfessor, Dean of Student Affairs
Member Secretary
3Prof. Utpal RoychowdhuryProfessor, Dean of AcademicsMember
4Prof.(Dr.) Pijush KantiBhattacharjeeProfessor & Dean R & DMember
5 Prof. (Dr.) Arun Kumar MondalProfessorMember
6Dr. Barnali KunduHOD, EE DeptMember
7Dr. Sunipa RoyHOD, ECE DeptMember
8Mr. Chiranjib DuttaHOD, CA DeptMember
9Dr. Sucharita ChakrabartiHOD, ASHU DeptMember
10Mrs. Bapita RoyHOD, AEIE DeptMember
11Ms. Suparna KarmakarHOD, IT DeptMember
12Dr. Sangeeta BhattacharyaHOD, CSE DeptMember
13Dr. Kakali BandyopadhyayHOD, FT DeptMember
14Dr. Adhish Kr. ChakrabartyRegistrarEx officio Member
15Mrs. Srabani KunduAsst. Prof., CSE DeptMember
16Dr. Indrajit BoseProfessor, ASHU DeptMember
Members (External)
17Prof. (Dr.) Sudhabindu RoyDepartment of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering, Jadavpur UniversityMember
18Prof.(Dr.) Runu ChakrabartyDept. of Food Technology and Bio-Chemical Engineering, Jadavpur UniversityMember
19Prof.(Dr.) Amalendu GhoshDepartment of Civil Engineering, IIEST, ShibpurMember
20Prof.(Dr.) Rajat Kumar DeMachine Intelligence Unit, ISI , KolkataMember
21 Prof. (Dr.) Konika Das Bhattacharya(University Nominee) Electrical Engineering Department, IIEST ShibpurMember
22Mr. Indranil Roy ChowdhurySenior Manager, Cognizant Technology Solutions, Kolkata Member
23Prof. (Dr.) Joydeep Chowdhury(University Nominee) Department of Physics,
Jadavpur University
24Prof.(Dr.) Asit Kumar Das(University Nominee)
Department of Computer Science
& Technology, IIEST, Shibpur